Northern Metropolitan Region

Connect with us!

NYSAC
c/o The Center for Nursing
2113 Western Ave.

Guilderland, NY  12084

518-456-7858

Northern Metropolitan Region of the New York State Action Coalition

The NorMet Region of NYSAC is comprised of seven counties:

Sullivan, Ulster, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland and Westchester.

Regional Initiatives, Committees and Membership

BSN 80-20 Committee

The focus of this committee is IOM Recommendation #4; to increase the proportion of nurses with a baccalaureate degree by 2020.  In this effort, this committee has developed the Aspiring Protege Toolkit to enhance retention of RN to BSN students. This program has gained much momentum with its unique approach to mentoring through its self-learning format and adaptability for use for both proteges and mentors. For more information or to schedule an information session, please contact Lisa Summers-Gibson (lsummers@ormc.org).

Outreach Committee

This Committee focuses its efforts on outreach through education of the IOM initiatives and NYSAC efforts by seeking opportunities to network and increase membership through involvement or participation at regional nursing events.  The comitttee has developed a comprehensive information packet and is seeking to form a speakers bureau. For more information or to become involved in outreach efforts, please contact Kathleen Flaherty (kathleen.flaherty@concordia-ny.edu).

Leadership Comittee

This newly formed committee will focus its efforts toward  IOM Recommendation #7; to prepare and enable nurses to lead change to advance health.  More info to follow as this new committee and its efforts continue to evolve!  For more information or to join in this effort, please contact  Carol Wanyo (cwanyo@dutchessny.gov) and Karin Pantel (kbpantel@yahoo.com) Co-Chairs.

Building Bridges and Collaborative Partnerships

The NorMet Region is comprised of a diverse membership of nurses and community members who span regional nursing, education, healthcare and other professional organizations that have joined together in support of the Furture of Nursing and its efforts to improve heathcare.  For more information or to join, please contact Deb Hunt (dhunt@cnr.edu), Kathleen Flaherty (kathleen.flaherty@concordia-ny.edu) or Roxy Raffa (rraffa@chahec.org) Co-Leads of the NorMet Region.

News and Updates

  • Save the Date! The next Northern Metropolitan Region biannual meeting will be held on Friday, November 18th from 10:00 am-12:00 pm at PACE University, Lienhard School of Nursing.  Special thanks to Dr. Andrea Sonenberg and PACE University, Lienhard School of Nursing for hosting.

  • Good news… We are very pleased to announce that Andrea Sonenberg, PhD, WHNP, CNM-B, FNAP, NorMet Region Leadership Committee Co-Chair has been appointed NYSAC Leadership Committee Co-Chair and will be working closely with founding Co-Chair Diana Mason, PhD, RN, FAAN on statewide leadership initiatives.  Congratulations,  Andrea!

  • More good news… Karin Pantel, EdD, RN, CNE has been appointed co-chair of NorMet’s  Leadership Committee.  She will be working together with current co-chair Carol Wanyo, RN, BSN, MA.  Congratulations Karin!

Regional Co-Leads:

Deborah Hunt

(dhunt@cnr.edu)

Roxy Raffa

(rraffa@chahec.org)

Kathleen Flaherty

(kathleen.flaherty@concordia-ny.edu)

Paula Graham(pgraham@riversidehealth.org)