Distinguished Nurse Researcher

Since 1980, the Foundation of New York State Nurses has sponsored a program to recognize nurse researchers who conduct studies that contribute to the advancement of nursing and patient care. Since its inception, many New York nurse researchers have been honored. These scholars have created a legacy of leadership and scholarship which continues to inspire programs of nursing research. (Note: current members of the Center for Nursing at the Foundation of New York State Nurses Cathryne A. Welch Center for Nursing Research and the Research Fellowship are ineligible to be nominated or to participate in the nomination process.) This award is conferred biennially (2017, 2019, etc. ).

Distinguished Nurse Researcher

Licensed registered nurse, doctorally prepared, who has obtained at least one degree, either a baccalaureate degree or higher, in nursing and –

  • has data based publications in peer reviewed journals/publications which demonstrate a coherent research program;
  • demonstrates quality and leadership in health care research which contribute to the science and art of nursing and health care;
  • disseminates the findings of her/his research to the scientific and clinical communities;
  • as principal investigator, has consistently received substantial funding since completion of the doctorate.

Criteria for the award include:

  • Evidence of a coherent research program;
  • Evidence of leadership in nursing research;
  • Quality of research;
  • Contribution to the science and art of nursing and health care; and
  • Dissemination of research to the scientific and clinical communities.


Nomination packets can be found on this website. The call for nominations is made at the beginning of the year. Applications are due in April and the Steering Committee makes a recommendation to the Foundation Board of Trustees in June.

Previous Distinguished Nurse Researcher Awardee

2015 Veronica D. Feeg, PhD, RN, FAAN
2013 Deborah Chyun, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
2011 Ann Kurth, PhD, CNM, FAAN
2010 Nancy M. Watson, PhD, RN, FGSA
2009 Gail D’Eramo Melkus, EdD,RN, C-NP, FAAN
2008 Patricia W. Stone, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN
2007 Mary W. Byrne, PhD, MPH, FAAN
2006 Hong Li, PhD, RN
2006 Carol S. Brewer, PhD, RN
2005 Keville Frederickson, EdD, RN, FAAN
2004 Dianne Morrison-Beedy, PhD, RNC, WHNP
2003 Joyce K. Anastasi, PhD, RN, FAAN, LAc
2002 Jean K. Brown, PhD, RN, FAAN
2001 Margaret Lunney, PhD, RN, CS
2000 Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN-CS, PNP
1999 Sandra Graham McClowry, PhD, RN, FAAN
1998 Lillie M. Shortridge-Baggett, EdD, RN, FAAN
1997 Judith Gedney Baggs, PhD, RN
1996 Terry T. Fulmer, PhD, RN, FAAN
1995 Elizabeth A. M. Barrett, PhD, RN, FAAN
1994 Christine T. Kovner, PhD, RN, FAAN
1993 Kathleen B. King, PhD, RN
1992 Susan E. Pollock, PhD, RN, FAAN
1991 Bethel A. Powers, PhD, RN
1990 Ellen M. Baer, PhD, RN
1989 Thelma J. Wells, PhD, RN, FAAN, FRCN
1988 Madeline H. Schmitt, PhD, RN, FAAN
1987 Wanda C. Hiestand, EdD, RN
1986 Marlene Ventura, EdD, RN, FAAN
1985 none
1984 none
1983 Marlyn T. Oberst, EdD, RN
1982 Carol N. Hoskins, PhD, RN
1981 Jean E. Johnson, PhD, RN
1980 Judith A. Sullivan, EdD, RN